Sign In Forgot Password

Bible Stories You Thought You Knew

Upcoming Sessions

1. Saturday, October 15, 2022 20 Tishrei 5783

12:00 PM - 1:15 PM

2. Saturday, November 12, 2022 18 Cheshvan 5783

12:00 PM - 1:15 PM

3. Saturday, December 10, 2022 16 Kislev 5783

12:00 PM - 1:15 PM

4. Saturday, January 21, 2023 28 Tevet 5783

12:00 PM - 1:15 PM

5. Saturday, February 18, 2023 27 Shevat 5783

12:00 PM - 1:15 PM

6. Saturday, March 18, 2023 25 Adar 5783

12:00 PM - 1:15 PM

7. Saturday, April 15, 2023 24 Nisan 5783

12:00 PM - 1:15 PM

8. Saturday, May 20, 2023 29 Iyyar 5783

12:00 PM - 1:15 PM
Past Sessions
Saturday, September 10, 2022 14 Elul 5782 - 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM

Bible Stories You Thought You Knew returns for 2022-2023 with monthly Torah Study sessions as we continue to answer the question "What happens after Deuteronomy?"  Sessions are held during Kiddush lunch on Shabbat.  This year we will complete our study of the Book of 2 Samuel and move into the Book of Kings.  Among the popular topics we will explore this year are: 

  • Absalom's Rebellion
  • David and Abishag
  • The death of David
  • Adonijah's attempt to steal the thrown
  • Solomon becomes king
  • Solomon and the baby
  • Building the Temple
  • The Queen of Sheba
  • All the King's wives (and concubines)
  • David dies and Solomon becomes King

As always, we will turn to the Sages for their insights on how we are to understand these stories.  Midrashic texts will play a major role in our exploration of these stories and characters. 

No preparation is needed to attend this series of classes and all are welcome to join us at any time -- for one session or for many!  No RSVP is required.  

Please be aware that our discussions and materials are often "PG-13" rated due to the violence and sexual content of many of these Biblical stories.  

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Thu, October 6 2022 11 Tishrei 5783